April 13, 2015

This Year’s Guggenheim Fellows Announced


guggenheim1Last week, the Guggenheim Foundation announced its list of 173 “scholars, artists, and scientists” who will receive Guggenheim Fellowships in 2015.

Among the thirty new Fellows in writing categories are the novelists Rivka Galchen, Kevin Powers, and Akhil Sharma; nonfiction writers Meghan Daum and Alex Ross; and the poet Rowan Ricardo Phillips. The winners are selected from a pool of more than 3,100 applicants “on the basis of prior achievement and exceptional promise,” and will receive approximately $43,200 each.

The process for selection is rigorous: applicants are grouped with others in their field and then reviewed by experts in that field–a network that consists of several hundred advisers, all of whom are themselves former Guggenheim fellows. Reviewers then evaluate and rank the applicants for a Committee of Selection, who then make recommendations to the Board of Trustees.

While “no one who applies is guaranteed success in the competition” (which wouldn’t really be much of a competition?) it’s worth noting that there is no prescreening; “all applications are reviewed.”

The complete list of 2015 Guggenheim Fellows is available here, and the list of winners in writing categories is below.


Jeffery Renard Allen

Maud Casey

Vikram Chandra

Percival Everett

Rivka Galchen

Mary Beth Keane

Anthony Marra

Anne Michaels

Kevin Powers

Akhil Sharma


Meghan Daum

Alison Hawthorne Deming

Melissa Fay Greene

Thomas Healy

Barbara Hurd

David Lazar

Patricia Marx

Christine Montross

Alex Ross

David L. Ulin


Dan Beachy-Quick

Matthew Dickman

Thomas Sayers Ellis

Gregory Fraser

Cathy Park Hong

Cate Marvin

Bernadette Mayer

Joshua Mehigan

Rowan Ricardo Phillips

Christina Pugh

Taylor Sperry is a former Melville House editor.