June 20, 2018

The Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist has been announced


The shortlist for Australia’s most prestigious book prize, the Miles Franklin Literary Award, was announced this week by Perpetual, the financial services company that sponsors it.

The mission of the award, which comes with $60,000 and has existed for over sixty years, is “to showcase significant and insightful literature that presents Australian life in any of its phases.” It was established by Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin, author of My Brilliant Career, who arranged for the annual tradition in her will.

The shortlist includes: No More Boats by Felicity Castagna, The Life to Come by Michelle de Kretser, The Last Garden by Eva Hornung, Storyland by Catherine McKinnon, Border Districts by Gerald Murnane, and Taboo by Kim Scott. This list includes some familiar names: Scott has previously won the award twice—for That Deadman Dance (2011) and Benang (2000)—and de Kretser once, for Questions of Travel (2013).

The nominated novels, according to Perpetual, “offer readers a remarkable collection of stories dealing with disconnection, dispossession and violence as well as experiences of grief, hope and love. They reflect deeply and often humorously on Australian life in the past, present and future.”

Winners will be announced in Melbourne on August 26th. While we’re waiting on the news, may we suggest a past winner near and dear to the Melville House family?



Stephanie DeLuca is the director of publicity at Melville House.