May 10, 2012

New 52 books hitting stores this week


Publishers Weekly reported this week that DC Comics will be releasing collections of their New 52 series as books — some hardcover and some paperback — this week.

A revamp of DC’s comic book series, the New 52 reset the universe of its characters, canceling all its existing series and relaunching 52 series starting from issue #1 in September 2011, a major departure from its numbering system that had previously remained intact since the 1930s.

Since then, the New 52 comics have come out on a monthly basis, and DC is publishing hardcover editions of the first volumes of two series: Justice League of America Vol. 1: The Origin and Batman Vol. 1: Court of Owls, as well as a trade paperback of Animal Man Vol. 1: The Hunt.

The books were released in direct market stores last week and will be available in general bookstores this week, and they’ve already met with success; the Justice League and Batman hardcovers are both in their second printings.


Nick Davies was a publicist at Melville House.