June 10, 2022

Father’s Day 2022 Picks

by

Father’s Day is coming up fast and we’ve got you covered. Check out our recent fiction and nonfiction to find something for any reader.

          ✅  Gruesome murders
          ✅  Crop circles
          ✅  Nazi villains
          ✅  Everyday heroes
          ✅  Vigilante cowboys
          ✅  Living forever

 

FICTION

 

The Bloodless Boy (Hunt & Hooke Book 1)
by Robert J. Lloyd

Part Wolf Hall, part The Name of the Rose, a riveting literary thriller set in Restoration London, with a cast of real historic figures, set against the actual historic events and intrigues of the returned king and his court. Book 2 coming this fall!

“Everything new is old again—rumor-mongering, disinformation campaigns, religious bigotry—in Robert J. Lloyd’s nifty murder mystery loosely based on real events in Restoration England.”
—The Washington Post

 

Here Goes Nothing
by Steve Toltz
A wildly inventive, savagely funny and topical novel about love, mortality and the afterlife, by the Booker-shortlisted author of A Fraction of the Whole.
 Read a sample>>
“Clever lines drop down on these pages like flowers thrown on a casket … [a] zany, increasingly dark comedy…”
—The Washington Post
Just Thieves
by Greg Galloway
A down and dirty gem of a tale, a twisty and twisted crime novel that evokes the worlds of George V. Higgins, Patricia Highsmith, and David Mamet.
“Galloway is as good at characterizations as he is at tight, and surprising, plotting… (a) stellar noir.”
—Publishers Weekly
The Perfect Golden Circle
by Benjamin Myers
From a British literary sensation, the story of two rural outcasts and the crop circles they create over the course of a long, hot and very strange summer.
“A quiet, peculiar, and utterly charming novel about … crop circles … A winsome pleasure: a novel of friendship, collaboration, and environmental guerrilla art.”
—Kirkus
Northern Heist (Ructions O’Hare #1)
by Robert J. Lloyd
A fast-paced, suspenseful thriller based on one of the biggest and still unsolved bank-robberies in history—written by a former IRA bank robber.
“Full of double and triple-crosses  . . . Northern Heist’s deeds and details seem as real as a smashed kneecap ….”
—The Wall Street Journal
Goering’s Gold (Ructions O’Hare #2)
by Richard O’Rawe
Ructions O’Hare returns in a thriller — based on one of history’s greatest unsolved heists — pitting him against the IRA, Interpol, and neo-Nazis . . .
“I clamor for the next installment of Richard O’Rawe’s rollicking series of heist novels … The pace crackles as it moves from Belfast to Paris to other European climes, and it’s nearly an impossibility not to root for Ructions, rogue that he is.”
—The New York Times Book Review.

NONFICTION

The Price of Immortality
by Peter Ward
In the tradition of Jon Ronson and Tim Wu, an absorbing and revelatory journey into the American Way of Defying Death
“[The Price of Immortality] evaluates with a journalist’s eye our best attempts at life extension, the drama and personalities of the people who surround them, and whether immortality is something humankind should be striving for at all..”
—Undark
The Marauders
by Patrick Strickland
This real-life Western tells the story of how citizens in a small Arizona border town stood up to anti-immigrant militias and vigilantes.
“The author does good work in linking the militias to the QAnon movement, especially in their combined ravings on child sex trafficking and “that POS George Soros.”
–Kirkus
Karachi Vice
by Samira Shackle

A fast-paced, hair-raising journey around Karachi in the company of those who know the city inside out—from an electrifying new voice in narrative non-fiction.

“A moving account of the struggles of everyday heroes—and of the unhappy metropolis that needs them.” —The Economist

Twilight in Hazard
by Alan Maimon
From investigative reporter and Pulitzer Prize finalist Alan Maimon comes the story of how a perfect storm of events has had a devastating impact on life in small town Appalachia, and on the soul of a shaken nation.
“Twilight in Hazard paints a more nuanced portrait of Appalachia than Vance did … [Maimon] eviscerates Vance’s bestseller with stiletto precision.” —Associated Press

Amelia Stymacks is the director of digital marketing at Melville House.

MobyLives