January 1, 1970

David Rees at the TireFire Reading Series, Philadelphia

Come celebrate the one-year anniversary of the Tire Fire Reading Series with an all-star line-up of killer writers, a bunch of cake, and some fantastic cocktails from the darlings at Tattooed Mom!

This time around, we’ve got the incredibly talented David Rees (who just earned a sweet rave in The New York Times for his latest book, “How to Sharpen Pencils”), Dan Magers (a must-see poet if you love Lacan and Wu-Tang Clan), and Philly’s own Lee Klein (a madman who’ll win you over with fine words).

We’re really stoked for this one, Philly! Don’t miss it!

More about the line-up:

DAVID REES first came to fame as the author of Get Your War On, a Bush-era comic strip composed from clip-art that he emailed to friends. It was eventually serialized by Rolling Stone magazine, collected into three successful books, and turned into an off-Broadway play. He is also the author of the workplace satire My New Filing Technique is Unstoppable. He lives in Beacon, New York.

DAN MAGERS’s first book of poems, Partyknife, is published by Birds, LLC. He is co-founder and co-editor of Sink Review, an online poetry journal as well as founder and editor of Immaculate Disciples Press, a handmade chapbook press focused on poetry and visual arts collaborations. He lives in Brooklyn.

LEE KLEIN‘s writing has appeared in Agni, Barrelhouse, The Best American Non-Required Reading 2007, The Black Warrior Review, Canteen, Swink, and many other sites, journals, and anthologies. Lately he’s been contributing to an innovative wireless collaborative project called “The Silent History” headed by Eli Horowitz, Kevin Moffett, and Matthew Derby, and has a story in the current issue of Ghost Town, edited by the aforementioned Mr. Moffett. Since 1999, he’s edited the semi-literary website Eyeshot.net (which first published Tao Lin, Blake Butler, and Maud Newton, as well as contributions by Zadie Smith, Daniel Alarcon, Ryan Boudinot, and hundreds of others from around the world), and, in 2006, he earned an MFA from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop.