“I think it’s pretty clear you’re wrong”: An interview with Kirk Lynn “I think it’s pretty clear you’re wrong”: An interview with Kirk Lynn

We’re publishing Kirk Lynn’s brilliant debut novel, Rules for Werewolves, in just one week, but we didn’t want to wait until publication to share this interview with the man itself.Read more »

Melville House is an independent publisher with offices in Brooklyn and London.

Academics, librarians, booksellers, and Melville House wackos: Sign up for one of our newsletters for updates and exclusive offers.

Melville House News

“Not on Fire, but Burning reads like a fever dream — spectacular, seductive, eerie, and surreal…Hrbek’s prose is hypnotic, his abrupt POV pivots are both dizzying and delightful, and his overarching meta-speculative style is utterly entrancing. Fans of Delillo, Atwood, or just great, innovative fiction, this one’s for you.”—Buzzfeed‘s 5 Great Books to Read in October, on Not on Fire, but Burning

“The book combines humor, horror, pop culture references, and a healthy dose of satire.”—Men’s Journal‘s 7 Best Books of October, on Rules for Werewolves 

“Stephens coyly admits he has routinely done everything from laundry in his clients’ homes to napping, showering, hosting book clubs and, yes, having a lot of sex…Approaching 40, Stephens has aged out of the full-time dog-walking game, but he has retained a youthfulness in his expressions of rage against capitalism, racism and inequality in all its forms…Ultimately, in his view, we’re all animals trying to get by and find as much comfort in a cold world as we can. And he’s more than willing to hump in your bed to make that point.”—Maclean’s, on The Dog Walker

“With Not on Fire, but Burning, Hrbek has crafted something audacious: A novel that operates simultaneously as apocalyptic alarmism, brain-bending quantum fiction, character-driven drama and gripping mystery. It’s as poignant as it is perplexing and profound.”NPR, on Not on Fire, but Burning 

“Bible delivers an elliptical, provocative novella about the profane and the spiritual, all of it drenched in sweat, sex, and booze.”—Kirkus Reviews, on Sophia


More from MobyLives! »

That Whale is Out There, Man!